Six Governments Seeking to Join OGP Leadership

7 July 2014

Eleven governments are competing for eight spots on the Steering Committee of the Open Government Partnership — five incumbents and six governments seeking a seat for the first time.

The voting among the 64 member governments began July 1 and ends July 30, with results to be announced Aug. 4.

Looking to win election on the Steering Committee for the first time are Sierra Leone, Canada, Honduras, Georgia, Croatia and France, according to an OGP announcement June 30.

Only one sitting member, Norway, opted not to seek re-election. Incumbents running are: Tanzania, Brazil, United States, Philippines, United Kingdom.

Exempt from the election process are the current government co-chairs: Indonesia (lead chair), Mexico (next lead chair) and South Africa (will follow Mexico).

In related news, a July 7 blog post from the current lead government chair, Indonesia, discusses how Indonesia organized to handle its leadership responsibilities.

First OGP Election Under Way

This is first election for new government Steering Committee members since the OGP’s founding in September 2011.

The original plan involved three countries voluntarily rotating off the committee, but incumbents were reluctant to leave, causing delay and necessitating a change in plans. The rules were altered and the committee expanded to 22 members.

The Steering Committee includes an equal number of members from governments and civil society, a unique structure that has existed from the beginning. Members will be elected to staggered terms and be subject to a two-year term limit.

Civil Society Holding Selection Process

A parallel process is under way to pick the new members to represent civil society, but this is being done through self-nominations and a selection committee system. There are 37 civil society candidates competing for five open slots. Six incumbents will be staying. The committee selections will be announced in the next few weeks.

Government and civil society candidates have submitted application letters which can be found on the OGP website, along with further details on the process. (slightly outdated).

Suneeta Kaimal of Revenue Watch Institute is the lead CSO chair and Alejandro Gonzalez of GESOC in Mexico will be the other CSO co-chair beginning in September.



Be Sociable, Share!


Filed under: What's New