Italy, Estonia Join OGP; Aguino Keynote Speaker

8 September 2011

Italy and Estonia have joined the list of countries joining the Open Government Partnership, according to information posted on the OGP website.

The OGP also unveiled the agenda for the “Power of Open” conference to be held Sept. 20 in New York City, revealing that Philippines President Benigno Aguino, who is being criticized for holding up freedom of information legislation, will be the keynote speaker.

The conference is being held in conjunction with the Sept. 20 official OGP kick-off event at which heads of state will appear. The OGP also announced that the conference will be live-streamed.

(See previous reports on the OGP by clicking on “open government partnership” under “latest tags.”)

Membership Now at 24

The list of OGP members now stands at 24. The website lists 16 countries that have sent in letters of intent agreeing to participate. Eight other countries are founding members. Seventy-nine countries were eligible under OGP criteria.

The list is: Albania, Bulgaria, Croatia, Estonia, Georgia, Guatemala, Honduras, Israel, Italy, Kenya, Lithuania, Macedonia, Malta, Moldova, Mongolia, Slovakia. The original eight country members are: the United States and Brazil (co-chairs), South Africa, the United Kingdom, Norway, Mexico, Indonesia and the Philippines.

Be Sociable, Share!


Filed under: What's New